I’m Back in The Game

So after a week of soreness and rest I was back at it yesterday with a 10.5 mile and it felt great. I finally convinced Annie Chen, who convinced me to run, to come train with me early on a Saturday AM. Needless to say she was not pleased when we started with the hills of Newton and the 8 mile run she was hoping for was really 10.5 miles, but we finished. In return for dragging her out on a Saturday morning, I’m going to join her for yoga on Tuesday which is supposed to be great for flexibility and recovery. We’ll just have to see about that. Hopefully I don’t look like too much of a lanky fool. Next weekend’s long run might be a bit tougher, as I’ll be in NY for my hometown fundraiser and won’t have the team to run with, so if anyone in Albany wants to go for a 17 mile run let me know.

Last week’s Boston’s fundraiser brought in just over $1400 with the final numbers and I am now 1/3 of the way to my fundraising goal of $6000. With my hometown fundraiser I hope to surpass the halfway mark. It is such a great cause and a hospital that is doing incredible research that is affect millions around the world. Here’s a little tidbit about Mass Eye and Ear’s research and development:

  • The Boston Keratoprosthesis (artificial cornea) was developed by Mass. Eye and Ear physician-scientist Dr. Claes Dohlman.  This is an artificial cornea that is used for patients with several corneal disease where corneal transplantation fails.  It is pretty amazing and is literally helping blind patients see.  Over 5,000 patients world-wide have received this implant to date.  Here’s a pretty great article from a couple of years back about a Mass. Eye and Ear patient that was helped by this:http://www.boston.com/news/local/massachusetts/articles/2007/11/05/no_time_for_tears/

I hope you all had a great week and hope to see many of you Capital Region natives on Saturday @ Bomber’s.

Shawn

This entry was posted in Fundraising Update, Mass Eye and Ear Information, Training Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

